Stephen M. Walt on Iran

Are we serious about talking with Tehran?
Foreign Policy, “A Realist in an Ideological Age” blog
April 9, 2012
Commentary by: Stephen M. Walt, member of the Belfer Center Board of Directors and Harvard Kennedy School’s Robert and Renée Belfer Professor of International Affairs
Topic: Iran 

“But here’s why I’m confused. I can see why the P5 +1 would like Iran to agree to these demands, just as I’d like Bill Gates and Warren Buffett to each write me billion dollar checks. But I don’t expect either of them to do this, yet the U.S and its allies seem to think this deal-breaking demand is a reasonable opening bid. In fact, their position sounds like a complete non-starter to me, and seems more likely to derail negotiations than advance them.”

Read more >

This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.