Nataliya Bugayova on gaining admission to Harvard Kennedy School

How to Get Into Harvard? These Ukrainians Know
Kyiv Post
August 30, 2012
Commentary by: Nataliya Bugayova, former Belfer International Global Affairs fellow, Harvard Kennedy School graduate
Topic: Gaining Admission to Harvard Kennedy School

“Getting admitted to Harvard and securing financing is improbable, yet not impossible, for Ukrainians. In May, I graduated from Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government with a master’s degree in public policy. And I would like more Ukrainians to have this chance.

To pre-empt skepticism, a logical aftermath of the corrupt practices of the Ukrainian education system, it did not take connections or money to get in. Stamina, conviction and brute luck were the keys. … However, I knew that I needed Harvard, why I needed it and how I could contribute. The university supported my conviction and in April 2010, I was admitted.

… A week before the deadline, after near 300 requests to whomever I could think of asking, I received a matching grant from a private foundation to cover the rest. Later, a third scholarship came from Harvard’s Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs.”

Read more>

This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.